top of page
  • Writer's pictureFiqah

Magazine Cover (Text Layout, 1st Draft)

Updated: Mar 2, 2021

For the wording of my magazine cover, I was suppose to use the Adobe Indesign app but unfortunately due to some technical issues, I couldn't use Adobe Indesign app and instead I used Microsoft Words for the mean while.


For my masthead (magazine title) I chose the name Happywell. Sounds weird but you can tell it's a magazine about wellness and being happy, which is what my magazine is all about; self-care. I chose the color yellow, to give it a 'pop' and to match with the model's shirt. I gave bit of shadow at the back so it wouldn't blend in too much with the photo.


For my tagline, I wanted it to show what the magazine is all about; 'a self-care lifestyle' magazine. For this I chose a black color font with a bit of glow (black also) to give a blur effect because I wanted it to stand out but not more than the masthead.


For the dateline, I chose a gery-ish color with a font that's doesn't stand out much because I don't want it to stand out more than the rest.


My main cover line is 'Do What You Love' which what my article (double spread page) will mostly be about. I used a simple font for the 'Do What You' part but I added a rectangle shape at the back as a highlight to give it a bit of pop but not more than the 'LOVE!'. For the 'LOVE!' part, I used a unique font to catch the readers attention with a blue font color along for the 'Do What You' part to match with the model's shirt as there is a bit of blue at his shoulders and the pocket.


For all the other cover lines, I used just simple wording font and white color font so it won't attract too much attention more than the main cover line. For the "Prioritize YOURSELF first. Not others", I used all caps for the 'yourself' part to attract attention to the reader and to also point out what self-care is about; Our self. I also used italic for the 'Prioritize','first' and 'Not others' so the 'Yourself' part looks more mesmerizing a bit more and also, readers won't be too confuse with the other cover line below it (Time-Management).


The other cover line and the model's credit (at the bottom right), I chose a very light yellow for the color font to match with the model's shirt and again, to not make it appeal more than the main cover line.


I placed my bar code at the bottom left so it won't draw too much attention but good enough to notice where it is. I had a bit of difficulties with how the bar code should be but I stumble on this website and created it and I hope that's okay for the mean while.

To me, I found it quite hard to do the wording for the magazine cover especially since I didn't really have much idea with how I want the text to look like. But after playing around with the color font and the word font, slowly, I got ideas for it. But either way. I'm quite happy with how it turns out!



Here is the end results:


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Magazine Production

When creating this magazine cover task, I always did some research for every task such as the magazine cover to get some inspiration. MAGAZINE COVER: For my magazine cover the improved and latest one,

Comments


bottom of page