top of page
  • Writer's pictureFiqah

20 Seconds Film

For a preliminary exercise, we had to create a short 20 seconds video with a minimum of 3 different camera movements to use.


Research and Planning

First, I made a storyboard. The storyboard shown below is the storyboard that I end up not using. Initially, I needed three actors/actresses for this but unfortunately only one of my friends, Sa'ud was interested to help me.

Because of that, I had to think of a new plot that I can do with only one actor.



I researched a lot of different short video clips on YouTube to get ideas and inspiration. I stumbled upon these two videos which gave me ideas for a new plot.

The video above is about a teenager dressed up getting ready for school or work.



This video is about a character named Peppa Pig who was upset due to her not able to whistle and decided to call her friend Suzie Sheep and asked her if she knew how to whistle. Unfortunately for Peppa Pig, Suzie Sheep knew how to whistle and immediately ended the call once she knew. I found the part when Peppa Pig ended the call quite funny and decided to corporate that part into my 20 seconds film.



Before is the second storyboard I have made with a new different plot from the first one.

The new plot is about a teenager getting ready for school. As soon as he was about to walk out of the door, he receives a call from a friend asking if he wants to hang out at the mall to which he answers "Yeah sure. Maybe after school?". His friend answers back "School? It's the school holiday!". The main character completely forgot that it was the school holiday.


I have almost followed every scene I planned in this storyboard onto my video except for the scene where the character fixes his hair in front of the mirror. I decided to skip this scene as it would make the video longer than 30 seconds if I were to include this scene.



Pre-Production Planning


Stage of Equilibrium

The plot of the 20 seconds film is a linear narrative as it is told in chronological order. Below is the state of equilibrium of my 20 seconds film:

State of Equilibrium:

- Adjusting the collar and arm sleeve of his shirt

- Grabs his school bag


Disruption of Equilibrium:

- Receives a call from his friend

- His friend asked if he wants to hang out at the mall


Recognition of Disruption:

- The main character replies to his friend suggesting to hang out after school

- His friend points out that it is the school holiday



Camera Movements/Angles

Below are the camera movements and angles I have used in my 20 seconds film


Mise en Scene




Editing

I used VLLO to edit my 20 seconds film. VLLO is a phone application with various editing functions.














Due to lighting issue during filming the calling scene, I added a filter from the VLLO application to brighten up the lighting of the scene.





















Subtitles










For the calling scene, I added subtitles to make it easier for the audience to understand the call conversation.




















Sounds





























Non-Diegetic Sound

For the first part of the video, I used a non-copyright song from YouTube 'Jarico - Island (Vlog No Copyright Music)' . The reason I chose this song is because I wanted a upbeat song to create a mood of the character excited to go to school.



At the end of the video, I used a non-copyright from YouTube 'Funny Creepy Twhich is usually used to end a comedy video. The reason I chose this song for the end of the video is to break the scene.












The ringtone and the voice of the friend calling is a recorded separately. I used my phone Honor 8s to record it. As I did not had any other friends with me at that time, Sa'ud had to also do the voice of his friend on the call.
















Diegetic Sound

For the part when the character is talking to his friend on the phone is a diegetic sound as it is not recorded separately.




Final Product:



Here is the final product after a week or two of planning and editing. Overall, I am quite satisfied as it is my first ever short video I have created but of course, there are some things that could have been improved.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Magazine Production

When creating this magazine cover task, I always did some research for every task such as the magazine cover to get some inspiration....

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page