top of page
  • Writer's pictureFiqah

Magazine Cover (Editing the photo)

Updated: Mar 2, 2021

For my magazine cover, I've decided to use the following image below:



The reason I chose this image is because, as I mention in my previous blog, I wanted to do a self-care magazine by telling a story about a teenage boy that loves to explore nature, hanging out in a park and enjoys skateboarding and this photos shows all of that! Again, as mention before, I wanted my self-care magazine different from the other magazine without going off topic as most self-care magazine cover shows a photo of a girl doing yoga or self-pamper, which to me it's not what self-care is always about.


First off, I edited the photo using Abode Photoshop. I started by editing the background making it a bit blurry so the reader will focus more on the model in the photo.


For the blur effect, I used quick selection tool and also magic wand tool to choose the area where i want the blur effect to be (the background). If there's any overlap that's been accidentally selected, I click on the quick selection tool and click on the symbol which shows a brush with dotted circle with a minus (-) on the top of the page to fix the selected overlap. I then go to the filter section (on top of the page) and go to blur; gaussian blur.


After that, I fixed some of the model's imperfection. For this, I mostly used healing brush tool and click on the parts I want to fix. I also used clone stamp tool. First I picked on the part/color I want to clone to fix the imperfection then I click on the area where I want to paint the cloned area.


Here is the results after editing with Abode Photoshop:



There's not much different between the original photo and the edited one as the original photo has a bit of blur effect at the background and I wanted just a bit more blur effect but not too much so the nature at the background can still be seen.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Magazine Production

When creating this magazine cover task, I always did some research for every task such as the magazine cover to get some inspiration....

Comments


bottom of page