top of page
  • Writer's pictureFiqah

Finding the Right Topic

During my first term in school, my Media Studies teacher, Miss Nana, gave us a task to make our own magazine. We were allowed to do any kinds of magazine issue as long it is school appropriate.


When picking the magazine issue, it was a bit difficult for me at first. Sure, I have many interest in so many stuff but I want to do a magazine issue that is a widely topic. I was looking through online different kinds of magazine issue but that did not really helped me much. I was then scroll through Instagram and then I realize that I've follow so many self care and motivation Instagram such as justgirlproject, declutteredintentions, theself_carekit, emotions_therapy, studywithjess and many more. This made me decided I wanted to do a self care magazine since I've found looking through them gives me a bit of motivation at times.


I knew I had to have an idea on how I want the magazine to look like in order to help me make it. I again look through the internet search for magazine issue but this time, I searched specifically for self care magazine issue. I realize most of the magazine cover are girls/woman model. Here are some examples:


I also notice most self care magazine used soft color look and looks very girly. They probably did this as most girls that love to do self care, likes soft color looks. I also realize that some magazine cover shows the model doing 'Self-Care stuff' such as having a bathe in a bath tub with fancy candles and flowers, medicating, and doing yoga. This made me even more curious on why self care magazine are like this.


I started to do even more research on what self care is about. Self-care is doing activity to take care of our mental, emotional, and physical health meaning that self care is so much more than just doing yoga and medicating. It can include other activities and hobbies which we ourselves enjoy doing.




All photos used in this post are not mine, belongs to the respective owner.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Magazine Production

When creating this magazine cover task, I always did some research for every task such as the magazine cover to get some inspiration....

Comments


bottom of page