top of page
  • Writer's pictureFiqah

Double Spread Page (1st Draft)

For my double spread page, I decided to do a page about the model's (on the magazine cover) college life and how self-care helped him tackle it and a short article about doing what you love.


First off, I did a interview with the model. Due to the crisis going on today, we couldn't do a one-on-one interview so we had to voice call through Whatsapp since both of our wi-fi are quite slow right now. But that didn't stop me from what I needed to do.


Before interviewing him, I did some research on what type of questions I should ask. From what I learn, magazine interview should be like a conversation and not like interrogating. This tip really helped me a lot when interviewing him.


As I interview him, I type down his answers as much as I can. I'm glad he was very cooperative and slow down when I needed to catch up. I wished I recorded it as prove and also to help me in case I missed out anything.


For the double spread page, I was again suppose to use Adobe Indesign app but due to technical issues, I had to use Microsoft Word for a while.





For the first page, I started out by picking a photo of the model. For the main title, I used a thick black font to make it look mesmerizing with a yellow background rectangle shape to match with the model's shirt with green outline to match with the grass. For the other title, I used a green shapes for the background also to match with the grass in the photo with simple font with yellow outline around the shape.









For the questions, I used a golden color font with big font to catch the reader's attention. For the answers, I used a normal black font to make it look formal. I used this style for the whole page one.






I decided to add a photo near the bottom right because it looked a bit too plain to me. I put the page number at the bottom right since the rest of the page was filled and I didn't want it to look cramp together.













Overall, this is how page one looks like:



For the second page, I started off by gather points for the topic 'Do What You Love'. Once I had my points, I put them in the order I want and made my own article.


For the background photo, I edited the photo first using Adobe Photoshop by giving some blur effect for the background so the reader can focus on the article. For the title, I used a golden thick font to match with the skateboard tire. For the article, I used a normal font to make it look formal but I gave color outline for each paragraph to match with the background photo and to give it some color.












At the right side of the page, I put another photo of the model that fits with what the topic is about. Below, I insert a direct speech on what the model had to say about this topic. For this, I used a normal font but made it bold so it'll 'pop' more. I added a grey box at the back to separate it with the article.























At the bottom of the page, I added a quote from Steve Job that goes along with the topic. I also put the page number at the bottom right since the rest of the page was already filled.




Here is the overall for the second page:

For both of the page, I added very fade blue and green for the background because I found it plain with just white. The reason I picked this two combination because it doesn't look to overboard and it matches with the photos.


Here is the overall for the double spread page:


So far, I didn't struggle much with making the double spread page. I think this is because I had the idea on how I wanted it to look like. Making the double spread page was quite a long process compare to making the magazine cover.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Magazine Production

When creating this magazine cover task, I always did some research for every task such as the magazine cover to get some inspiration....

Comments


bottom of page